Chicken with Asparagus and Peppers

Yay for today. It was the first day that had a sense of coolness about it, and it reminded me of all the things I love about winter. We had our PT session this morning and it was COLD when we got there. Once I got home I donned some winterish clothes with great enthusiasm, ready for work.

 It was even a little chilly as I walked out to my car tonight to come home. There’s nothing I love more in this weather than drinking (too much)wine and cooking. Well the drinking wine part needs to be cut down majorly, but I can still cook!

 On Saturday night I stayed in and made a dish from a recipe from allrecipes.com, Chicken with Asparagus and Roasted Red Peppers. This recipe basically requires you to poach a chicken breast and vegetables in chicken stock. Once cooked, you sprinkle some vinegar and cheese over the top and voila.

 Well, I didnt have a jar of roasted red peppers, so I used a fresh one and added some pesto. I also threw in some oregano from my balcony garden.

 I was pretty unimpressed with this. Fairly bland, not to mention the fact that I am terrible at poaching chicken breast. It ALWAYS ends up tough! But I ate it anyway and my thighs thanked me.

Leave a Reply

